knitrundig

Knitting, running, archaeology and bags

It’s a shawl thing…

on August 29, 2011

Back again!

What is the shawl thing of the title? Well, along with socks I’ve developed an addiction to knitting shawls. Early in the year I joined the 11 Shawls for 2011 group on Ravelry and so far have completed seven shawls! The most recent one I have finished is Ishbel – please note that these are Ravelry links, you need to join to see the details but it is free.

 

Ishbel Shawl

Ishbel

I have done a bit of running, a 5K back in May for Race for Life. I didn’t run most of it but did manage to get round, hooray! It was a very hot afternoon, in a lovely location on the edge of Poole Harbour. I’ve also signed up for a 5k next month, for Diabetes UK. That’s because in July I learned that I have Diabetes, which was  a big shock at the time. Luckily I have a wonderful doctor and at the moment I don’t have to take any medication to control it. It helps to explain why I was so tired all the time, so it’s good to know.

I have done no archaeology since June, though I had planned to do a couple of weeks this month. That’s because I am still very tired, though improving slowly. So instead I visit sites and earlier this year had a very interesting tour around a site that used to be the goods yard next to St Pancras Station. Follow this link to read more about it and to see pictures.

 


Leave a Reply

